Make it Monday: C.C.’s Strawberry Spinach Salad

15 Mar

My friend C.C. made this strawberry spinach salad last year and it is now the food that I associate with sunshine and summer. B’s workplace frequently has potluck lunches, and this salad took home the blue ribbon in the salad and appetizers category (everything is a competition for engineers). The secret is the home-made dressing.

C.C.’s Strawberry Spinach Salad

Dressing 

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup vinegar  

2 tablespoons sesame seeds  

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

1 tablespoon minced red onion (I used white onion, because it was what I had in the fridge, and I used much more than 1 tablespoon)  

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/4 teaspoon paprika 

Mix dressing together and chill for about an hour before serving. If you don’t have time for this, that’s okay. It still tastes delicious. The dressing hardens a bit if left in the fridge too long, so shake it up regularly. 

Putting it together

Wash strawberries and chop them up however you like. I prefer to slice them because I find I get more mileage out of my berries that way.

Toast 1/2 cup of sliced (I used slivered) almonds in a frying pan with a little splash of oil; when brown, sprinkle with a teaspoon of sugar and remove from heat.

Wash spinach, throw in berries and almonds and toss with an appropriate dressing-to-salad ratio. You will have leftover dressing; pop it in the fridge for tomorrow.

Bon appetite!

2 Responses to “Make it Monday: C.C.’s Strawberry Spinach Salad”

  1. mandy March 15, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    This does sound like summer. I can’t wait for strawberries to be in season.

  2. E.P. March 21, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Oh, YUM! This salad looks like the perfect summer salad! And I’m definitely going to try it out.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

