Wine Wednesday: Coppola Rosso 2007

31 Mar

Francis Ford Coppola’s Claret was one of my very first “favourite” wines. Unfortunately, $30 is just too much to spend on an everyday drinking wine — it’s a bottle to save for a special occasion. Coppola produced Rosso and Bianco as his “wines for everyday life” to preserve the Italian tradition of serving simple but tasty wines.

 

Coppola’s Rosso 2007 is a much cheaper, versatile, flavorful wine. Deep magenta in colour, this wine tastes of black cherry and raspberries with a bit of cloves. This wine is light on tannins, so it’s easy to drink with any meal. We thought it was a rather wimpy red considering its deep colour until we had it with souvlaki, pitas, and hummus. It tasted even better with these garlicky foods.

4 Responses to “Wine Wednesday: Coppola Rosso 2007”

  1. Stevie March 31, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    I was actually not impressed with Coppola’s wines when I first tasted them back in 2003, but the more recent vintages I’ve found to be much tastier, including this one! And I know exactly what you mean about pairing it with lots of garlic packed foods. It’s even better!

  2. ashley April 1, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    mmm…sounds good! I’m no wine expert, but I do love a good Cabernet or Pinot Grigio. They make me really happy 🙂

  3. Emily Jane April 6, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Mmmm now I’m craving wine and garlic… remind me to have you over for a tea party one day 🙂

  4. Kyla Roma April 10, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    I think that garlicy foods just trick me into thinking that everything in the world – wine included – is better =) Although I’m sure this is great! lol

    Have you tried French wine at all? My favourites are the beaujolais, they’re also very light reds and low in tannins- and they make me feel like I understand french wine regions lol Other than them, any pinot noir & I are best friends.

Leave a Reply

