3 May

As I caught my reflection in the train window on Friday, it was the first time I’d ever felt old.

Whenever I’m anxious or frustrated, the moment I open my mouth to speak the tears come. It is completely illogical, irrational, and embarrassing. This is how I  spent much of Friday morning, as I shifted through paperwork and checked items off of my to-do list.

While a post-bad day drink usually eases my spirits, gin was unable to do the trick this time. So I did what any introvert would do; I curled up on the couch and spent some quality time alone.

Promotions are exciting, but let me tell you, the learning curve can be terrifying.

9 Responses to “”

  1. Emily Jane May 3, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Congrats on the promotion, and I totally hear you on the scary front. All you can do is your best and remind yourself why they gave you the promotion in the first place – because they believe in you 🙂 And so do I!

  2. sleepyjane May 3, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Sometimes the only thing that works is being alone for a while. [hug]

  3. mandy May 3, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    I agree, I spend far more time alone for this very reason than I care to admit. You will adapt and conquer this. Sending big hugs!

  4. Kyla Roma May 9, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    Oh sweetie! I’m so sorry, this sounds like a rough week- I’m sure you’ll do just fine. The learning curve is part of it, and everyone around you will know that. Don’t de too hard on yourself, you’re brilliant =) Give it time.

  5. hannahkaty May 10, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    I wish I could give you a hug right now… Hold your head up miss.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  6. Sarah May 12, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Oh man. That quote made me tear up myself. I wish you lived nearby so we could curl up on my couch eating muffins and commiserating.

    All you can do is work through that list one thing at a time. Just remember you are brilliant and capable and brave.

    xo!

  7. E.P. May 13, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Congratulations on the promotion! I totally understand things being scary… I was recently kind of promoted and learning everything new? Intimidating. But then whenever you DO learn everything? You feel amazing.

    You can do it!

  8. andrea May 26, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    darling girl.
    you will be here soon.
    I’ll hold your hand
    and we will eat good things.
    Barring that, we’ll cry and yell at the sea. xo

  9. Des June 19, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    What an honest and compelling post. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

