A brain in your head, and feet in your shoes

24 Jun

Image stolen from here.

I have a hard time talking myself up in interviews; probably because I was taught to be modest, or because I was ashamed in elementary school for being brainy.

Right now, I feel like I am six years old with loose leaf papers held tight in my hand, and knobby knees banging into one another as I sprint from the bus up the lane to the house. Out of breath from all that hard work, I merely raise my paper-filled fist in victory. An A+ in a class where all of my very smart, very capable graduate school friends had a much, much harder time.  I don’t know how I did it; part of me just assumes it’s because I flew under the radar, but I’ll take it.

One more year. One more year and all of the stress, the days I went home from work and just cried, and knots in my shoulders from constantly carrying around textbooks in my purse will all be worth it.

7 Responses to “A brain in your head, and feet in your shoes”

  1. Sarah June 24, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    Oh congratulations you! No doubt you’ve earned it!

  2. Kaye Bee June 24, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I’ve been checking at least five times a day for your return. I’ve missed reading about your day! I’m SO proud of you, but I always knew you were a smartie pants. I hope you put it on the fridge! I definitely would! I would put your success on my fridge too.. you deserve all the praise you worked so hard for! I hope you had a good trip! I can’t wait to read about it and see the pictures. Love. xo.

  3. Emily Jane June 25, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    Congrats!! So very proud of you! 🙂

  4. maggie June 28, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    i think women have a harder time than men talking about themselves in a positive way.

  5. mandy June 29, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Congratulations, dear! So proud of you and yes, it will all be worth it in the end and you’ll soon forget the tears, stress, etc.

  6. hannahkaty June 30, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Hang in there! You are so so so close. I realize I have not been over here in a while and I desperately need to change that.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  7. Chelsea Talks Smack July 15, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    CONGRAAAATS!

Leave a Reply

