Violated

3 Aug

I wonder how long the thief was watching our condo to break in for the approximately half hour we were gone. Did he/she see me make an ass out of myself on the Wii? Did they watch/listen as I chatted with my school team about This Alien Life (see: most awesome made up podcast ever)? Did they see B go/return from his epic mountain bike journey? Do they know what I look like? Is it that kid who showed up at the patio door a couple weeks ago asking if I knew so-and-so: his pot dealer?

Will he/she realize my laptop isn’t worth anything and just toss all my school work and photos into a dumpster somewhere? What will he/she buy with the cash they stole from my wallet? Drugs? Bubble gum? A new iPhone? I would almost like to say “thank you” for not taking my cards, otherwise I would not be going home this weekend as planned. What did this person learn about me as they rummaged through my purse and wallet?

Will I ever feel safe leaving my condo again?

9 Responses to “Violated”

  1. hillary August 3, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    ugh – lady I am so sorry. what a shitty thing to have to deal with. I hope the asshat who robbed you comes down with a fiery case of herpes.

  2. mandy August 3, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear this. Sending you a big big hug from Ohio.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 3, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Oh no! I’m so sorry 😦 That is the ultimate violation. Did you have renters insurance? I hope they catch the bugger!!! It’s not quite the same thing, but our hotel was broken into and we were robbed when we were in Rome and it was horrible. You just feel so un-safe and violated after something like that has happened. I’m sorry it happened to you.

  4. Kaye Bee August 3, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    😦 To add to Hillary’s comment.. I hope their herpes get syphilis. I’m glad your still coming home.

    • Leanne Behrns August 3, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      Me too, Kitty. Me too.

  5. MelissaOklahoma August 3, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    I’m so sorry! What a horrible feeling! I’m glad you’re OK though…

  6. Emily Jane August 4, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    My love!! I am so so sorry this happened to you, it’s so incredibly scary. I’m glad you are okay and safe but how spectacularly awful. What an asshole. I’m totally with Hillary on this one. *Hugs*

  7. Sarah August 4, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    How horrific! I’m so sorry this happened to you and I’m very, very glad you guys are (physically) all right!

  8. andrea August 7, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    I am so sorry L. That is the pits – I second all types of herpes, and something I saw on tv called “carbuncles”.
    I’m thinking of you

Leave a Reply

