A new chapter

22 Jun

Our condo building, in the bright morning sun.

M.A. (in communications) has been added after my name, and B and I bought a house in Marshall McLuhan’s old ‘hood — a delightful coincidence. While thoughts of our cheery, new (to us) bungalow and the sweet apple tree in our backyard have me wishing for August, I’m also a bit sad about leaving the condo.

I remember the condo back when it was peach-toned, with photos of bears wrestling in cheap Walmart frames. I remember B making me weekend breakfast early on in our relationship, after I had started staying the night. I was so impressed with his omelette skills. We got to know each other by spending entire days in the living room playing Rock Band. We chat about our days as we make supper side-by-side in the kitchen. Our oven is my nemesis, but we’ve come to understand one another; it will patiently deal with batches of cupcakes, but heaven forbid I try baking cookies.

I remember the first time I realized just how much I cared for B, on a Sunday night during a snowstorm when I was stranded at his place. He braved the cold and the snow to try to dig his car out to get me home, but the car just wouldn’t budge. We cuddled on the old futon to warm up while I checked bus schedules, and he wrapped me in his arms at the bus stop while we waited for the number 10.

The condo has gone from being B’s place to being our place. The futon has long since disappeared, plants are taking over, and we painstakingly picked out shades and repainted nearly all of the rooms (the laundry room is the only reminder of B’s peach-hued bachelor days). We’ve hosted barbeques here with friends spilling out on the lawn , met one another’s families, and celebrated major milestones (most recently, B’s 30th birthday).

The condo will always be the first place we lived in together, but the bungalow will be our first place. We will make s’mores at the fire pit in the back yard, bake desserts using the apples from our tree, plant herbs and vegetables in our little garden. We will get to know our neighbours, be part of a community, and start the next chapter of our lives under this roof.

I’m excited about what the future holds; I may just shed a tear or two as I turn the page.

7 Responses to “A new chapter”

  1. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 22, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Congrats on your new home! I think moving is ALWAYS bittersweet but you will LOVE owning a home together, it’s a wonderful feeling.

  2. Emily Jane June 22, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Congratulations!! 🙂

  3. Robyn June 26, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    So happy for you and the new adventures you and B will enjoy together! Xo

  4. Teresa July 10, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Beautiful Leanne! Loved reading this. So excited for you and B in your new home. Love ya, T

  5. MelissaOklahoma July 31, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Congrats on your new home! Bungalows are my favorite!!!! I hope you’ll blog about moving & settling into your new place. 🙂

  6. Margarita August 3, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Congrats on your new home!! So exciting 🙂

  7. inapartment12 August 3, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    My boyfriend and I are embarking on our condo stage.. Our home stage sounds like the perfect things to aim for!

Leave a Reply

