A few brief lines on my own hypocrisy

5 May

A few years has passed since I wrote my Masters research paper on how Twitter builds community both on and offline. I’ve been thinking about this lately as I peruse the posts of others and leave my own little page neglected. As a communicator, I know the value of an online presence and these tools. I know that being busy is not an excuse. I question my value to these spaces and have been taking the time to reflect upon the type of presence I want to have. What would a future employer think as they stumble upon this page? I want to be authentic. I love language and words and grammar, and I know I have been relying too easily on the same general words to describe just about everything these days.

2 Responses to “A few brief lines on my own hypocrisy”

  1. yours truly, melissa May 7, 2014 at 1:09 pm #

    I struggle with the same thing sometimes. I want to be present online but I hesitate how much I want to share with complete strangers (and oh gosh, my employer!) so I feel as though I often edit what I say. Which I guess self editing isn’t always bad, but you know, sometimes you just want to say what you feel or something inappropriate but funny!

    • Leanne May 7, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

      I like using blog writing to be creative, but I often feel like I have nothing of value to put out there (which is silly, really). Over thinking things really stifles us. 😉

Leave a comment